Make Minnie Ears For Your Doll

Who doesn’t love that sweet Minnie Mouse? I was asked by a friend to make a Disney themed outfit for her little girl’s American Girl doll.  She and her family were going to Disney World in a few months so naturally they had to have the proper attire. Initially I was just thinking a cute Minnie silhouette tee and jeans.  But you can’t go to the Happiest Place on Earth (it truly is, trust me on this) without your Mouse ears!  So I quickly replied to her that she had to have Minnie ears for her doll, too.  Then I realized that I don’t know how to make those.  Uh oh, what was I thinking?!? I do that all too often unfortunately, however it does get the creative juices flowing and I usually end up with a pretty good product.  Not always, but I’ll save that for another post – Katie J. Disasters.  tee hee.

So without further adieu, here is the how-to to make your own set of Minnie ears.  If you make them, I’d love to see your pics, so feel free to post them to my facebook page – http://facebook.com/ShopKatieJDesigns or email them to katiejdesigns@ymail.com.  Thanks!

What You’ll Need

  • Soft black felt cut into two strips measuring 10″ x  .75″
  • Stiff black felt (Check the craft aisle, not fabric aisle) cut into two strips – 2.5″ x  .5″ and four circles with a diameter of  1.75″  Note: I used my Cricut to cut the circles.  To get the 1.75″ diameter I cut at 2.75″ using the multi-cut function.
  • Thread in black and to match your bow
  • Glue gun and glue sticks
  • Fabric scraps for your bow  – 3.5″ x   2.75″ and 1″ x 2″
  • 1/4″ elastic in white or black – one 3″ piece

Instructions

  1. Fold one strip of soft black felt in half lengthwise.  Mark the center with a pin.  Open strip up and with small scissors carefully cut a .5″ slit in felt 1.25″ from the center point. Do this on each side of center point.  This is where the ears will sit on the headband.
  2. Split the stiffened felt strips halfway to center lengthwise.
  3. Cut circles to make flat bottoms.
Split strips, level ears, and find center.

4. Insert stiff felt strips into the slits cut in the soft felt.  Fold the split pieces, one to the front, one to the back. 

5. Pin the second soft strip to the first, catching the split pieces in between the layers. Stitch along both sides of strips to create headband.  Trim pieces.

Catch split pieces between the layers and sew.

Trim pieces

6. Fold larger fabric scrap in half, right sides together.  Stitch as seen in the picture below. Trim corners and turn right side out.  Iron flat, tucking under the open edges.  Stitch smaller scrap along long edge, right sides together and turn right side out to create a tube for the middle of bow.   Iron flat and topstitch (optional)

Fold and stitch bow.

 7.  Carefully using hot glue gun, pinch center of bow slightly and glue center strip around the middle.  I adhered the glue to the back of the bow and pressed the center strip down one at a time, glueing between both.  I applied No Fray liquid to the ends to prevent fraying.  Hot glue would do the same thing, I think.

Glue center strip to bow

Pinch center slightly

 8. Slip elastic ends into the headband about .25″ and sew to create a headband. Sew across the elastic two or three times to give added strength.

Insert elastic and sew

9. Time to glue the ears to the headband.  Carefully glue two ear pieces together over the strip on the headband.  Make sure to put glue on the strip and along ear bottom to adhere it to headband.  Hold the headband and ears in place for about a minute to be sure they are on good.  No worries if glue gets on soft felt, it can be gently cut away without damage.  Try to avoid it  if you can, though.

Attach the ears

10. Apply glue top the bottom of bow center and a little bit beyond.  Attach bow to headband centering between the ears. Hold in place until set.  

Attach bow (not while on doll's head, though. :)

Congratulations!  You have Minnie ears.  I hope this was easy to follow.  Please let me know if you have any questions.

Katie 

About Katie J Designs

I am 30-something, married with two kids, two dogs, and three kitties. A daydreamer with visions of a successful sewing business. You know, the "get paid for doing what you love" job... I have been a stay home mom, a realtor, a property manager, and an admin assistant. I sometimes feel silly about it, but I have the opportunity to give this my best shot and that is what I am going to do. I would love to have you along for the ride. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

